Extension and you

Operating as part of The University of Florida's Institute of Food and Agricultural Services (IFAS), Extension serves each of the state's 67 counties by providing information and conducting educational programs on issues such as sustainable agriculture, competitiveness in world markets, natural resource conservation, energy conservation, food safety, child and family development, consumer credit counseling, youth development, and wetlands and water quality.

The emphasis of the Wetlands extension program is on the role of wetlands in controlling or enhancing water quality. More specifically, the program addresses issues of wetland resource management and land use, wetland restoration and construction, and wetlands-related best management practices. This program is directed to both private and public sectors, including agricultural, urban, environmental and regulatory communities.

Wetlands extension can provide valuable technical resources to local citizens' groups, as well as local elected officials, planners and agencies dealing with wetlands, watersheds, and water quality issues.

Extension objectives include publication of fact sheets and other technical publications, dissemination of technical information via the internet and other means, development of educational programs for the private and public sectors, and in-service training workshops for county faculty.

Contact your extension office

Click on your county or select it from the list to be connected to your county extension homepage. Each homepage includes telephone and address contact information for your county extension agent and contains information about programs in your area.

Locate your county extension office:


Dade Monroe Broward Collier Palm Beach Hendry Lee Martin Glades Okeechobee St. Lucie Indian River Charlotte Desoto Brevard Osceola Polk Sarasota Manatee Hardee Hillsborough Pasco Lake Orange Hernando Sumter Seminole Citrus Volusia Highlands Marion Levy Flagler Putnam St. Johns Clay Alachua Gilchrist Dixie Layfayette Bradford Duval Nassau Baker Union Columbia Suwannee Taylor Hamilton Madison Jefferson Wakulla Leon Gadsden Liberty Franklin Gulf Calhoun Bay Jackson Washington Walton Okaloosa Santa Rosa Escambia Holmes

Top of Page